Essex (County of). Municipal Services

Site: Essex - Essex County Civic Centre - Fairview Ave W

Service: Corporation of the County of Essex - Essex County Municipal Election Information

Add Record Add Record | Suggest Update | Print Version (New Window)
Contact Information
Office Phone 519-776-6441
After Hours Phone 519-776-6441
TTY Phone 1-877-624-4832
Fax 519-776-4455
Social Media Facebook LinkedIn Twitter
Primary Contact Mary Birch, Director of Council and Community Services/Clerk, County of Essex; Phone: ext 1335; Email:
Alternate Contact Renée Trombley, Manager of Corporate Communications and Accessibility, County of Essex; Phone: ext 1330; Email:
Volunteer Coordinator Katherine Hebert, Council Services Administrative Assistant, County of Essex; Phone: ext 1323; Email:
Description and Service Details
Description (Service) * County of Essex, municipal elections are held by each individual municipality.  
* Eligible electors within each local municipality vote for a mayor, deputy mayor (except for the Town of Essex), council members and trustees for the 4 school boards.  
* The term of office for all councillors and school board trustees’ is for 4 years 
* The Mayors and Deputy Mayors elected to the Councils of the seven local municipalities of Essex County, also sit on Essex County Council.  
* The Warden (Head of Essex County Council) is elected in Dec of each Election year. 
* The newly elected mayors and deputy mayors that make up County Council, vote for the Warden and Deputy Warden by secret ballot from amongst the County Councillors. 
* All members of County Council serve a term of 4 years.  
Click on the website link to be directed to the 7 individual municipal websites to find out election information for a specific Essex County municipality
Hours Mon-Fri: 9 am-4:30 pm
Dates Current Councillors and School Board Trustees’ : Dec 1, 2019 - Nov 30, 2022 
The next term of council will be from Dec 1, 2022 - Nov 30, 2025
Meetings When: County Council meetings are held the 1st and 3rd Wed of the month at 7 pm 
Where: in the Council Chambers at the Essex County Civic Centre, 360 Fairview Ave W, Essex, On
Areas Served Amherstburg ; Essex ; Kingsville ; Lakeshore ; LaSalle ; Leamington ; Tecumseh
Eligibility Residents/Taxpayers of Essex County 18 yrs and older
Application Registration required to vote in elections
Languages English
Fees None
Agency Information
Established 1792
Primary Executive Robert Maisonville, Chief Administrative Officer, County of Essex; Phone: ext 1325; Email:
Funding Regional / Municipal - County of Essex
Elections * Every 4 years 
* The Warden (Head of Essex County Council) is elected in Dec of each Election year. 
* The next election for Warden and Deputy Warden will take place on Wed, Dec 12, 2018.
Site Information
Located In Community Essex
Address & Map
Essex County Civic Centre
360 Fairview Ave W, Suite 202
Essex, ON N8M 1Y6
Intersection Fairview Ave and County Road 34
Physical Access Fully Accessible - Parking, Ramp, Automatic Entrance at South and East Entrance, Washroom, Elevator
Other Details
Print Material Council Agendas, minutes and by-laws are available on-line at under Document Archives.

Still can't find a service? Call us.

Call 2-1-1, Toll Free: 1-866-686-0045